Message from the Council September

young man laughing with carer

The Council was given an update on the progress of the Pilot since the last Council. This included the completion of an NDDA digital platform prototype and the communications plan. The digital platform was designed to give user friendly insights from the NDDA. The Pilot’s communication plan includes an information pack, videos and website design and build. The Council noted the importance of accessibility in the different communications methods such as the videos.

Children and Young People with Disability Australia, CEO, Mary Sayers, presented to the Council on data gaps for children and young people with disability and the importance of the NDDA closing these gaps.

Meeting attendees

The meeting was chaired by Dr Ben Gauntlett, Disability Discrimination Commissioner at the Australian Human Rights Commission. The following members took part in the meeting: 

  • Dr Scott Avery, Senior Lecturer, School of Social Sciences, Western Sydney University  
  • Professor Bruce Bonyhady AM, Executive Chair & Director, Melbourne Disability Institute, previous Chairman of the National Disability Insurance Agency Board  
  • Belinda Drew, CEO, Community Services Industry Australia, Chair, Social Enterprise Finance Australia  
  • Professor Anne Kavanagh, Chair of Disability and Health, Head of the Disability and Health Unit in the Centre for Health Equity, Co-Director, NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Disability and Health, University of Melbourne 
  • Professor Gwynnyth Llewellyn, Director of Family and Disability Studies, University of Sydney, Head, WHO Collaborating Centre for Strengthening Rehabilitation Capacity in Health Systems, Co-Director, NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Disability and Health, Disability and Inequity Stream Leader, Centre for Disability Research and Policy  
  • Dr Steven McEachern, Director, Australian Data Archive, Australian National University 
  • Kevin Stone, CEO, Victorian Advocacy League for Individuals with Disability, Chair, Inclusion Australia (National Council on Intellectual Disability)   
  • Professor Julian Trollor, Head of Development Disability Department, University of New South Wales 
  • Leah Van Poppel, CEO, Women with Disabilities Victoria  
  • John Walsh AM, former director of the National Disability Insurance Scheme.
Skip to content